9th World Championship

rugby 15th - 21st Aug 2011 Helsinki, FIN

Offical website

The World Championships - The first CMAS World Championship for men took place in Mülheim, Germany. The first women’s World Championship took place in Copenhagen 1991. Since then the Championships have occurred every 4 years. The 9th Championships are now taking place in Helsinki, Finland. For the first time the games will be streamed live over the Internet.

Finland 2011 - At the Pirkkola Sport Park swimming pool 14 nations will compete on the men’s side. Teams are seeded in four groups, based on the results from the last World Championships in Bari, Italy in 2007. South Africa will compete for the first time. Finland, gold medal winner in 2007, competes against Colombia, Austria and South Africa in Group A. In Group B, Sweden, silver medalist in the last games, must contend with Switzerland, Turkey and Spain. Bronze-medal holders Norway meet Italy and the Czech Republic. Denmark, fourth in the last World Championships, takes on Germany and Russia in Group D. On the women’s side there are 7 nations in total. In Group E, Sweden, Silver medalist in the last games, faces Norway, Denmark and Spain while in Group F, defending champions Germany meet Colombia and Finland. Upon conclusion of Group play, on Day 3, competition in the medal qualifying round commences. The finals and award ceremony of both the men’s and women’s draws will take place on 20th August.

Related Documents

Share this event with your friends